The clock is ticking...
Being arrested for DWI can be a life changing experience with possible long term consequences. In fact, as soon as you're arrested for DWI, the fight for your license begins. Whether you've been improperly arrested or just made a mistake, this is the time to hire help. You only have 15 days to schedule an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing with the Texas Department of Public Safety from the time of your arrest. Failure to schedule an ALR hearing will result in the loss of your license 40 days after your arrest.
When it comes to DWI there is no time to drag your feet. The penalties for DWI convictions can be severe and Texas politicians and prosecutors take this crime very seriously. Don't hesitate to pick up the phone and call the lawyers of Third Coast Law to help you navigate these deep waters. Let us represent you every step of the way.
What is DWI?
In Texas, Chapter 49 of the penal code defines Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) as operating a motor vehicle in a public place while intoxicated. Futhermore, it defines "intoxicated" as not having the normal use of one's mental or physical faculties or a BAC over .08. Field sobriety tests are commonly used to measure ones faculties. The loss of mental or physical faculties can come from:
- Controlled Substances
- Any other substance into the body
The statute also states that someone with a BAC of .08 or more is considered legally intoxicated. However, all is not lost if this is your case. At Third Coast Law, we challenge the admissibility of field sobriety tests, breath tests, and blood tests by attempting to suppress any evidence that wasn't collected or maintained according to the strict procedures required by law. Come in today and let's talk about your case.
What are the possible penalties for DWI?
The maximum jails times and fines vary based on the details of your case. Factors affecting punishment range can include whether or not someone was injured and your BAC. Here are the general guidelines of potential maximum punishments:
First offense DWI with BAC .08 - .149 (Class B Misdemeanor)
- $2,000 fine
- 180 days in county jail
- Driver's license suspension 90-365 days
Second offense DWI or First Offense DWI with BAC .15+ (Class A Misdemeanor)
- $4,000 fine
- 1 year in county jail
- Driver's license suspension 180 days-2 years
Third offense DWI or Intoxication Assault (Third Degree Felony)
- $10,000 fine
- 2-10 years in state jail
- Driver's license suspension up to 2 years
Share your side...
It's never too soon to protect your freedom. You may not get to tell your side of the story without proper legal representation. Save your future. Let Third Coast Law fight for your rights!