Caught stealing? We can help.
Property Crimes such as theft and burglary can be serious and life-altering offenses. Consequences for a conviction could include jail time, high fines, and an increased difficulty finding employment. Evidence can include video surveillance, witness testimony, account records, etc. However, all of this is only one side of the story. We want to hear YOUR side.
At Third Coast Law, we are committed to providing personalized defense strategies for both juveniles and adults charged with property crimes. There are many options to potentially keeping a mistake off your criminal record including restitution and diversion programs for first time offenders. Come in today for a free consultation and let's explore your options.
What is the difference between Theft and Burglary?
Theft is defined in Chapter 31 of the Texas Penal Code as "unlawfully appropriating property with intent to deprive the owner of such property."
- Offense can be:
Class C misdemeanor - First Degree Felony
Burglary is defined in Chapter 30 of the Texas Penal Code as "entering a habitation, or building not then open to the public, with the intent to commit a felony, theft, or assault."
- Offense can be:
State Jail Felony - First Degree Felony
The main difference between these offenses is the location of the crime. Theft normally occurs at a place where you have the right to be, for example, Walmart. However, burglary involves a breaking and entering onto property that is not yours, including both commercial buildings and private residences. This added element of trespass, is a reason lawmakers decided that a burglary conviction is always a felony. Whereas, the range of punishment for a theft coviction will often vary based on the value of the property allegedly stolen.
Punishment Ranges for Theft
- Class C misdemeanor: less than $50
- Class B misdemeanor: $50 to less than $500
- Class A misdemeanor: $500 to less than $1,500
- State Jail Felony: $1,500 to less than $20,000
- Third Degree Felony: $20,000 to less than $100,000
- Second Degree Felony: $100,000 to less than $200,000
- First Degree Felony: $200,000 or more
Regardless of the property crime you're facing, we are here to help. Whether you accidentally wrote a bad check or you made a mistake because you're down on your luck, at Third Coast Law we will fight to protect your rights. Remember, a key element of these offenses focuses on your "intent", so come in today and tell us what happened. Together we will plan a defense to get your future back on track.
Share your side...
It's never too soon to protect your freedom. You may not get to tell your side of the story without proper legal representation. Save your future. Let Third Coast Law fight for your rights!